Ed Bibliography

This is a list of the books of Edward D. Wood, Jr..

  • Black Lace Drag (1963). Also known as Killer in Drag (from 1965)--as well as Blacklace Drag, The Twilight Land, Homosexual Generation, and translated as La Drag Asesina—this most famous Wood novel sees Glen from ‘Glen or Glenda’ working as a transvestite assassin. [Correction: There is no correlation between this novel and the film Glen or Glenda save for the similarity of a man named Glen whose transvestite alter ego's name is Glenda.] By day he is normal, ordinary Glen Marker and by night he dons the angora in order to become his ruthless killer alter ego, Glenda Satin. When Glen suspects he has been set up by his bosses, he goes on the run and winds up joining a carnival. This is probably one of Wood’s better novels and certainly one of the most iconic. There is a character in this novel called Dalton Van Carter who appears to be based upon the real-life film director, William Desmond Taylor.
  • Orgy of the Dead (1966). This novel was released after the movie of the same title but was actually written prior to it. It also features sequences from other Wood movies including ‘The Night the Banshee Cried’.
  • Parisian Passions (1966). This story involves a transvestite cop investigating the strangling of a number of Paris strippers. The pseudonym on the cover reads ‘J. X. Williams’ although in a printing error, Wood’s name appears on the inside title page.
  • Watts...The Difference (1966). AKA Burn, Baby, Burn. A series of flashbacks as a Hollywood cowboy actor and his lover reminisce. While not a transvestite-themed novel, one of the main characters does have an angora fetish.
  • Sideshow Siren (1966). AKA Naked Bones. A carnival freak escapes a sideshow and a series of gruesome murders ensue.
  • Drag Trade (1967). A story about a psychologically damaged male character who was made to wear pink dresses as a child. Ed Wood actually appears in drag on the cover of this book.
  • Bloodiest sex crimes of history (1967). His first non-fiction book is written under the pseudonym of ‘Spenser and West’ and details real-life stories of vampirism and cannibalism.
  • Security Risk (1967).
  • Watts...After (1967). Sequel to Watts...The Difference.
  • Devil Girls (1967).
  • It Takes One to Know One (1967).
  • Death of a Transvestite (1967). Also known as Let Me Die in Drag and Hollywood Drag. This is the sequel novel to 1963’s ‘Black Lace Drag’ and sees Glen Marker on death row. He requests to die in drag. The story is mostly told through documents such as police reports. As with ‘Drag Trade’, Ed Wood features in drag on the cover of some versions of this novel although his anonymity is maintained by a black bar positioned across his eyes. It is sometimes published under the pseudonym of ‘Woodrow Edwards’.
  • Suburbia Confidential (1967).
  • Nighttime Lez (1968). Tales of sexual experimentation.
  • Raped in the Grass (1968). This brutal pornographic novel depicts two young American girls being tortured and raped by rogue Native Americans. It is accompanied by black and white photographs, allegedly taken from a movie of the same title. However, no such movie has ever been found. Raped in the Grass is probably the most outrageous Wood story.
  • Bye Bye Broadie (1968). Also contains photographs supposedly from a film, copies of which have yet to surface.
  • The Perverts (1968). Just about every sexual fetish and depravity imaginable can be found in this novel published under the name ‘Jason Nichols‘.
  • The Gay Underworld (1968).
  • Sex, Shrouds and Caskets (1968).
  • The Sexecutives (1968).
  • Sex Museum (1968).
  • The Love of the Dead (1968).
  • One, Two, Three (1968).
  • Hell Chicks (1968).
  • Purple Thighs (1968). AKA Lost Souls Delivered. An ill-informed story about the sexual freedom of hippies. Also titled ‘Lost Souls Delivered’.
  • Carnival Piece (1969).
  • Toni: Black Tigress (1969).
  • Mama’s Diary (1969).
  • Hollywood Rat Race (1960s). Throughout the sixties, Wood worked on a quasi-memoir detailing the zeitgeist of Hollywood in the sixties. The book also has elements of advice for those trying to establish themselves in show business. Never published at the time, it was first published in the 1990s.
  • To Make a Homo (1971).
  • Sexual Practices in Witchcraft and Black Magic, Book One (1971).
  • Sexual Practices in Witchcraft and Black Magic, Book Two (1971).
  • Black Myth (1971).
  • The Sexual Woman: Book 2 (1971).
  • The Sexual Man: Book 2 (1971).
  • Mary-Go-Round (1972).
  • A Study of the Sons and Daughters of Erotica (1972). A supposedly non-fiction piece including a quote or two from Criswell.
  • The Only House (1972). This is the novel version of Ed Wood’s movie, ‘Necromania’.
  • A Study of Fetishes and Fantasies (1973).
  • A Study in the Motivation of Censorship, Sex and the Movies, Book 1 (1973).
  • A Study in the Motivation of Censorship, Sex and the Movies, Book 2 (1973).
  • Tales for a Sexy Night, Vol. 1 (1973).
  • Tales for a Sexy Night, Vol. 2 (1973).
  • Outlaws of the Old West (1973). Wood has one non-fiction short in this compilation: "Pearl Hart and the last stage."
  • Death of a Transvestite Hooker (1973).
  • Forced Entry (1974).
  • TV Lust (1977) A thinly veiled account for Wood's Lonnie Anderson fetish.

Possible works:[1] The Adult Version of Dracula; And He Rode All Night; Black Sexual Habits and Techniques; Everybody Does It; The Erotic Spy; For Love or Money; Gay Black; The Greek Connection; Hollywood Sex Book; Lesbian Wife Swapping; Male Wives; Mask of Evil; Offbeat Orgies; The Oralists; Pleasure Dorm; The Producer; Riot, Rape & Revelry; Saving Grace: The Last Lash; Sex Life of the Alcoholic; The Sexual Man, Book II; The Sexual Woman, Book II; The Skin Flick; Strange Sisters; A Study of Stag Films; The Svengali of Sex; Swedish House; They; The Transsexual; The Trouble With ---?; Young, Black and Gay


Go to Notes and Bibliography Style

Go to Author-Date Style

CMOS Online Subscribe or Free Trial

Chicago-style source citations come in two varieties: (1) notes and bibliography and (2) author-date. If you already know which system to use, follow one of the links above to see sample citations for a variety of common sources. If you are unsure about which system to use, read on.

Notes and Bibliography or Author-Date?

The notes and bibliography system is preferred by many working in the humanities—including literature, history, and the arts. In this system, sources are cited in numbered footnotes or endnotes. Each note corresponds to a raised (superscript) number in the text. Sources are also usually listed in a separate bibliography. The notes and bibliography system can accommodate a wide variety of sources, including unusual ones that don’t fit neatly into the author-date system.

The author-date system is more common in the sciences and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author’s last name and year of publication. Each in-text citation matches up with an entry in a reference list, where full bibliographic information is provided.

Aside from the use of numbered notes versus parenthetical references in the text, the two systems share a similar style. Follow the links at the top of this page to see examples of some of the more common source types cited in both systems.

Most authors choose the system used by others in their field or required by their publisher. Students who are unsure of which system to use will find more information here.

For a more comprehensive look at Chicago’s two systems of source citation and many more examples, see chapters 14 and 15 of The Chicago Manual of Style.

0 Replies to “Ed Bibliography”

Lascia un Commento

L'indirizzo email non verrà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *